Monday, April 29, 2013

2013 Saskatchewan Book Awards Winners

Barbara Langhorst
(I was at her table, so got a close-up shot)
So many amazing writers with fantastic books were nominated for the 2013 Saskatchewan Book Awards, with works on the short-list ranging from kids' stories, art books and scholarly writing, to poetry, novels and creative non-fiction.

What a range. What talent, too! And what a task for judges to select final recipients of the awards.

Their choices included two multiple winners:

Saskatoon's Candace Savage won three awards for her creative non-fiction (A Geography of Blood: Unearthing Memory from a Prairie Landscape, Greystone); the awards were sponsored the University of Regina, the University of Saskatchewan, and the City and Library of Saskatoon.

Regina's Melanie Schnell won two for her novel (While the Sun is Above Us, Freehand), for First Book and the City of Regina Award.

Other winners:
  • Poetry: Barbara Langhorst (Restless White Fields, NeWest Press); 
  • Fiction: Harriet Richards (The Pious Robber, Thistledown); 
  • Young Adult Literature: Alice Kuipers (40 Things I Want to Tell You, HarperCollins Canada); 
  • Aboriginal Peoples' Writing: Blair Stonechild (Buffy Sainte-Marie: It's My Way, Fifth House);
  • Le prix du livre français: Françoise Sigur-Cloutier & Mireille Lavoie, eds. (Théâtre fransaskois 5, Les Éditions de la nouvelle plume);
  • Aboriginal People's Publishing: Leah Marie Dorion, trans. Norman Fleury (The Diamond Willow Walking Stick, Gabriel Dumont Institute);   
  • Scholarly Writing: Felix Hoehn (Reconciling Sovereignties: Aboriginal Nations and Canada, Native Law Centre);  
  • Publishing: Heather Suzanne Smith, Alan C. Elder, Julie Krueger, Folmer Hansen and David Ross (Hansen-Ross Potter: Pioneering Fine Craft on the Canadian Prairies, Moose Jaw Museum and Art Gallery); 
  • Publishing in Education: Penny Draper (Day of the Cyclone, Coteau Books). 

Candace Savage
Melanie Schnell
Harriet Richards
Blair Stonechild
Robert Currie, reading a poem written for the Book Awards.

Byrna Barclay, bringing greetings from the
Saskatchewan Arts Board. 

For the full and formal news release of book award winners and sponsors, visit the Saskatchewan Book Awards site.)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...