Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Congrats, Sandra Birdsell!

Sandra Birdsell 
Congrats to Regina writer Sandra Birdsell, this year's recipient of the Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence!

The award honours Saskatchewan writers with a substantial body of acclaimed literary work and comes with a $10,000 prize.

Sandra Birdsell has written six novels, including Waiting for Joe, Children of the Day and The Russländer, as well as three collections of short stories and several scripts for television, theatre and radio. A respected mentor, she has been a lecturer and writer-in-residence at numerous universities across Canada, United States, Italy, England and Poland — and has won many awards for her writing.

She also serves as President of the Sage Hill Writing Experience, is a founding member of the Manitoba Writers’ Guild, was invested as a Member of the Order of Canada in 2010, and received the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal and the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in 2012.
"Sandra's fiction has been consistently recognized as among the best in the country, and she is most deserving of the Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award with its dedication to literary excellence.” (2014 Kloppenburg Jury)
Past recipients of the award, which was established in 2010, are Guy Vanderhaeghe, Lorna Crozier, Sharon Butala, and Dianne Warren. For more, see the website for the Saskatchewan Writers Guild, which administers this award.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...