Sunday, April 29, 2012

2012 Saskatchewan Book Awards

We had a great time at the 2012 Saskatchewan Book Awards last night. Guest speaker was Montreal/Saskatchewan writer Mark Abley, and there were two winners at our table — Anne McDonald, who took the prize for Best First Book with To the Edge of the Sea (Thistledown Press), and Gord Hunter, who won the raffle with all of the winning books (and many other treats, including dinner at The Willow on Wascana...  with me!).

Anne McDonald - photo by Shelley Banks
Anne McDonald accepts her prize for Best First Book
from a representative of National Bank Financial © SB 

Mark Abley - photo by Shelley Banks
Mark Abley on "Stop Tweeting, Start Reading!" © SB 

Mark Cronlund Anderson, Carmen L Robertson - photo by Shelley Banks
Mark Cronlund Anderson and Carmen L. Robertson,
collect one of their three prizes. 
© SB 
Other winners included Carmen L. Robertson and Mark Cronlund Anderson whose book Seeing Red (University of Manitoba Press) won in three categories: Scholarly Writing, First People's Writing and the Regina Book Award. Darren R. Prefontaine won the Saskatchewan Book of the Year with Li Chef Michif, Jeff Park won the Saskatoon Book Award with the cellophane sky: jazz poems (Hagios Press); Harold Johnson won Fiction Award for The Cast Stone (Thistledown Press); Thelma Poirier, Poetry, with Rock Creek Blues (Coteau Books); and Adele Dueck, Children's Literature, for Racing Home Coteau Books). For more, see the Saskatchewan Book Awards website.

Congrats to all winners — and all who were short-listed for the awards!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...